Upcoming events

  • April 09, 2025 (EDT)
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Log in
Log in

ASEH Prize, Award, and Fellowship Winners

March 28, 2022 9:27 AM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

At the awards ceremony Saturday night March 26th in Eugene, OR, ASEH announced the winners of its annual awards, prizes, and fellowships. Congratulations to this year's winners:

The Distinguished Scholar Award given every year to an individual who has contributed significantly to environmental history scholarship.

Linda Nash

The Lisa Mighetto Distinguished Service Award is given every year to an individual who has contributed significantly to the development of ASEH as an organization.

William Cronon

The Public Outreach Project Award presented every two years to an environmental history project that engages the public. 

George Perkins Marsh Prize for best book in environmental history


Lucas Bessire, Running Out: In Search of Water on the High Plains (Princeton)


Bartow Elmore, Seed Money: Monsanto’s Past and Our Food Future (W.W. Norton)

Faisal H. Husain, Rivers of the Sultan: The Tigris and Euphrates in the Ottoman Empire  (Oxford)

Kristin A. Wintersteen, The Fishmeal Revolution: The Industrialization of the Humboldt Current (California)

Rachel Carson Prize for best dissertation in environmental history

Will Michael Wright, "Nature Unbound: What Gray Wolves, Monarch Butterflies, and Giant Sequoias Tell Us About Large Landscape Conservation" (Montana State University)

Alice Hamilton Prize for best article outside journal Environmental History

 Tamara Fernando, “Seeing Like the Sea: A Multispecies History of the Ceylon Pearl Fishery, 1800-1925” (Past and Present, Vol. 254 (1), Sept 2021).

Leopold-Hidy Award to honor the best article in the journal, Environmental History.

Kendra Smith-Howard, “Absorbing Waste, Displacing Labor: Family, Environment, and the Disposable Diaper in the 1970s” (April 2021).

ASEH-FHS Graduate Student Essay Prize

Sherri Sheu, "'A Total Approach to Urban Problems': Summer in the Parks and the National Park Service" 

The EH editors selected two Environmental History Fellows who will also participate in the Graduate Essay Prize workshops. These fellows are: 

Julia Fine, "'Who Will Voluntarily Sacrifice His Life by Becoming a Labourer?': Water, Work, and Resistance in Colonial Bengal's Salt Industry, 1780-1862"

Kyuhyun Han, "Protect the Forest, Prevent Forest Fires: CCP Forest Fire Prevention and Wasteland-burning Cultivation, 1949-1959"

Hal Rothman Dissertation Fellowship

Marissa Crannell-Ash, for “Unruly Swine: Pigs, Community, and Justice in Late Medieval Burgundy"

J. Donald Hughes Graduate Research Fellowships

Natascha De Vasconcellos Otoya, for “Geological Historical Bicycle Expedition in the Reconcavo Bay, Bahia – Brazil”

Thanglienmang Haokip, for “Swidden Transformations in Manipur: Causes and Consequences on the Environment”

Equity Graduate Fellowship

José Manuel Santillana Blanco, for “Racial Motherhood Ecologies: Towards a Mapping of Social Life, Violence & Resistance in the Southwest Borderlands, 1980-Present”

Samuel P. Hays Research Fellowship

Claire Perrott, for Volcano in a Cornfield: The History of Parícutin Volcano, 1943-1952”

 ASEH 2023 Copyright Reserved

American Society for Environmental History

UIC Department of History - MC 198

601 S. Morgan St.

Chicago, IL  60607-7109